Inspiration Bacon: Baconfest 2011

People are crazy for their bacon. So much so, 3 guys decided it was a good idea to create an entire event with bacon as the theme. Chicago’s first Baconfest was held last year at the Stan Mansion in Logan Square. Tickets sold out in 10 minutes. This year, they upped the amount of tickets by over double (1500) and held the event in the UIC Forum. Still, 100% sold out.

This is the video they showed on a huge screen when we walked into the event.  I got chills!

Below are images and descriptions of some of the dishes we tried (You can either click on the image for the description or hover over the picture). With over 50 restaurants, we unfortunately were full an hour in after eating 20 dishes. Most were really well done. The dish I loved best was Big Jones’ Bacon and Foie Gras Moon Pie with Cayenne Peanuts. Salty, sweet, spicy, and rich!

Feel free to sign up on the Baconfest Chicago site to keep up to date until next year and join their mailing list to find out when tickets go on sale for Baconfest 2012!

One thought on “Inspiration Bacon: Baconfest 2011

  1. I can’t believe you got to go to this! I wanted to go so bad, to be surrounded by people who think they like bacon as much as I do. Admittedly I only found out about it a few months ago, but nevertheless, it pains me to know it happened and I wasn’t there.

    I love the blog, by the way. You’ve got a real grand sense of creativity and I love every bit of it. I might have to get my hands dirty in the kitchen again and try some of these recipes out!

Leave a Reply

